2023 Nominees

The Jewish Comics Experience


The winners of the 2023 JewCie Awards are:

Artist Honoree of the Year: Asaf Hanuka
Asaf Hanuka, an Israeli comic book writer, artist, and illustrator living in Tel Aviv, was recognized for his outstanding contributions to Jewish content. 

Writer Honoree of the Year: Neil Kleid
Graphic novelist Neil Kleid, based in New Jersey, received this award for his exceptional work on graphic novels such as Ninety Candles, Brownsville, and The Big Kahn.

The Macherke Award: Trina Robbins
Trina Robbins, who has been writing graphic novels, books, and comics with Jewish subjects for nearly half a century, was honored for her extensive career contributions to Jewish comics. Robbins’ work has encompassed a wide range of subjects, from the Eisner-nominated A Minyen Yidn to her graphic biography of Holocaust survivor Lily Renee, and her creation of the teenage superheroine, GoGirl!

The Macher Award: Jules Feiffer
Jules Feiffer, a Bronx-born cartoonist who won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning and is considered one of the most widely read satirists in the country, received the Macher Award for his illustrious career contributions to the field of comics.

Combatting Prejudice: Peter Kuper
This award was presented to Peter Kuper, who has demonstrated dedication to the fight against prejudice through their creative work and publications.

The winners in other categories:

  • Diverse Representation: The Unfinished Corner by Dani Colman and Rachel “Tuna” Petrowicz 
  • Historical Narrative: The Librarian of Auschwitz: The Graphic Novel by Salva Rubio, Antonio Iturbe, Loreto Aroca
  • Fictional Narrative: Hereville Trilogy by Barry Deutsch 
  • Autobiographical Narrative: Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant: A Memoir by Roz Chast 
  • Contemporary Topics: The Property by Rutu Modan

THE Judges

And the Winners will be…